Leeds, Part Two: Photographs

KODACOLOUR 200 35MM COLOUR FILM ON A PENTAX P30T

These are the second round of photos I took in Leeds last month. I was beginning to feel particularly anxious one evening in my matchbox hall room, so forced myself to head outside with a camera. I could see the sun was going to produce some rich contrasts against the West Yorkshire red brick buildings, I enhanced this and the colours even further in editing. I tried to play with perspective and framing with these images and concentrating on this really helped to calm me down. Deliberately seeking out a new way to frame a subject and considering the various lighting and colour variables was very stimulating. The combination of industrial houses and greenery is really appealing to me; it’s an absolutely gorgeous place to live. I mainly take photos whenever I feel a good opportunity presents itself, so I really loved setting out specifically to achieve a certain aesthetic and produce photographs of Leeds that are representative of my experience here.

Leave a Reply

