Chlorine: poem

At 10

I could not find comfort in chlorine

Its bleach burnt my nose

sat in my throat

I had to wear lycra layers

safety goggles, a peg to plug me up

Sat wrapped in damp towels

puckering on cold poolside

I got rough dry and left

hair tangled in sinus stinging mess

The water emptied and filled

the tiles mopped and swept

 

And I return, 8 years late

reflect in the cyanic depths

since I slept in deep sea dreaming

feet feeling smooth ceramic

Stirring these waters

easy as breathing

Enveloped in blue coating

like I wear my own skin

Letting light over my limbs

swirling gold coins, swim

out, dive down, and

let the chlorine in

 

 

EM HUMBLE
Leave a Reply

